Pages

Sunday, June 14, 2009

Mr. Mom or: how I learned to stop worrying and love the bomb, er,...

You ever know that is just going to be one of those days, weeks, months, ahem...years? When Husband got home Friday night I just knew that we were off. We weren't seeing eye to eye on anything and I think that the week's exhaustions had caught up with us. We spent most of the evening bickering and finally, yesterday, I took matters into my own hands. I quit. That's right, I went on Mommy/Wife strike. I didn't clean, I didn't chase the baby. I just stopped. I let things happen around me at a leisurely pace. No hustling out the door. No hurrying to put meals on the table. No micro-managing Husband until I was blue in the face. I just had...peace. Calm. Before you get on my case about why it isn't fair that I did this to Husband, please read my previous blog. It may explain a lot. If you feel the need to tell me what you think after that, don't bother, you are probably one of those people that like to perpetuate the myth of Super Woman. I can do many things at the same time for a long time, but no one, less supernatural powers, can do many things at the same time forever. I don't expect the same of Husband either. I encourage him to take a weekend off here and there from his life and recharge. The thing is, Husband is a workaholic and perfectionist. The former causes him to never stop going. Ever. Energizer Bunny style. The latter causes him to procrastinate and second-guess himself when something really matters because of a fear of failure. So imagine someone who does a whole lot of misdirected nonsense much of the time because of lack of confidence in completing a task to rigid standards but at the same time not being able to stop from doing said nonsense because he/she is driven to just do. I know, right? So anyway, Husband was indirectly directed (by my Mommy/Wife strike) to take care of Daughter, some meals, and housework this weekend. You know what? He hasn't complained, tired, or asked for help...I think I may have the perfect situation here. I don't want to assume anything, but I think he might be enjoying himself. He probably feels useful and now that he is completing tasks to his own standards. So, he is experiencing success and fulfilling his drive to be constantly busy. Feel free to use my technique on your own misters.
Daughter has woken in the night for the past two nights. Last night she screamed "Mama!" and nearly scared me to death. I'm not sure what's happened. It has been months since she's been through a wakeful stage. I am afraid that she is either teething again or has another ear infection. Both treatable but until they pass, I might as well join the undead in the Zombie walk because I won't be getting much sleep. Fingers crossed these past two nights were merely a fluke...right.

Due to recent sleep deprivation we've made some funny remarks & had some interesting experiences this weekend. Here are some highlights:

Husband: "It's hard to know when to hit it or ignore it"
Me: "Ahh, one of the great questions in life."
(Not at all in reference to...well, you know.)

Me: "You're weird." - in response to something I apparently thought was silly.
Me directly after I said above: "Let's touch wrist bones."

Me: (Making tea with an ice tea maker)
Daughter: "Ohhhhhh!" (watching the tea maker start working)
Me: "I know, we're making sweet tea, isn't that nice?" (watching Daughter watch the tea maker)
A minute or two passes, Daughter and I are still standing in the kitchen watching.
Husband: "K.! YOU FORGOT THE PITCHER!!!"
Daughter and I were watching the tea maker make tea all over our counter. I didn't notice. She probably did, which is probably why she thought it was so damn interesting.


No comments:

Post a Comment